Let’s discuss important things.

 

Much bigger minds than mine have tackled the subject of employment in libraryland, but it is on the forefront of my mind as I work on the last six credits of my Master’s degree.

A lot of people who currently have jobs are giving me well-meaning advice about the “right job” coming along, but I need a “right-now job”.  Recent trends in popular culture point to positive thinking as a way of getting what you need from the universe, but I’m quite skeptical.  Every time some family member or friend asks me how my job hunt is going, I feel like I have to smile and make it sound better than it is, when really I just want to break down and cry hysterically.

What do you think of this video?

Is there some way we can use our collective power to change libraryland for the better?

Leave a comment

Filed under Chatter, Slinkster-Callie

Leave a Reply

